Night & Light

Diamond Lights – 11/10/2010, 9:32pm; Rexburg, ID; f-10; 8 seconds; Canon Rebel XSi on tripod.

Lightpost Streams – 11/10/2010, 9:58pm; Rexburg, ID; f-10; 5 seconds; Canon Rebel XSi on tripod.

City Lights – 11/10/2010, 10:10pm; Rexburg, ID; f-18; 15 seconds; Canon Rebel XSi on tripod.

For the first picture, I put my camera on a tripod and set the shutter speed to 8 seconds. I then used an app on my phone which flashes different colors on the screen, and waved it in front of the camera. The original image looked like a stroke of light across the picture. I duplicated the layer, rotated it 90 degrees and set the blending mode to “Linear Burn”. This created a “diamond” shape where the light strokes intersected. I flattened the image, then copied it two times, set blending modes to lighten and placed them in the pattern. I only increased the blacks on this picture.

For the second, I had my camera on a tripod facing some lightposts next to a sidewalk. While the camera took the picture, I slowly rotated the camera to the right to get the streams of light. I only adjusted blacks and contrast.

For the last one, I simply put the shutter speed on a longer time. The cars driving by made the light streams, and the changing of the stop-light made it look like all three colors were on. I adjusted the contrast and saturation.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

